Day 5

Today overall wasn’t completely terrible. I like to set aside 1 day of my weekend where I stay home and relax all day. I sometimes get a little anxious and stressed if I feel that I didn’t really “get a weekend.” Sunday, was my relaxing day.

A realtor was coming to take photos of my home for an appraisal so I knew that I needed to clean. And clean I did! I spent most of the day watching House of Cards, but I did take a break for a half hour here and there to clean. I cleaned so much that I actually caused my plantar fasciitis to flare up. After a total of about 2 hours of cleaning, my house was nearly clean. I would almost finish it up the next day. I still have a few things to take to the recycling center and to donate, but it’s getting there.

I never made that smoothie I mentioned. Instead, I opted for another grilled cheese, some raw kale chips, the rest of my Panang Curry, white rice, and 3 ciders.  I really like ciders. I’m still finding it tricky to get in vegetables and protein. I don’t really like vegetables, so they’re not something I normally turn to. The protein is tricky because the guide didn’t really give too many options for protein. Here are the suggestions from the Meal Prep Haven guide:

  • Sardines
  • Chicken breast
  • Turkey breast
  • Ground turkey
  • Wild fish
  • Wild game
  • Eggs
  • Tempeh
  • Tofu
  • Pork loin 
  • Tuna
  • Turkey slices
  • Ham slices
  • Ricotta cheese
  • Cottage cheese
  • Plain Greek yogurt*
  • Shellfish / clams
  • Protein powder
  • Veggie burger

*Yogurts often include gelatin which make them not a vegetarian options.

As you can see, I’m left with about 8 options. I don’t really like eggs, cottage cheese, or tofu. Protein powder I feel is just all artificial ingredients. So as you can see, not a lot of options. Some vegetables and nuts are packed with protein, yet they have been omitted from this list. I’m interested to know how much protein and calories each of the meat choices have per serving. I think I’m going to calculate this up to see if I can find more alternatives.

The items they suggest to eat for protein range between 150-210 calories and 29-37.5g of protein per serving.  

Protein Content of Selected Vegan Foods:

  • Tempeh 1 cup 31 
  • Soybeans, cooked 1 cup 29 
  • Seitan 3 ounces 21 
  • Lentils, cooked 1 cup 18 
  • Black beans, cooked 1 cup 15 
  • Kidney beans, cooked 1 cup 15 
  • Chickpeas, cooked 1 cup 15 
  • Pinto beans, cooked 1 cup 15 
  • Lima beans, cooked 1 cup 15 
  • Black-eyed peas, cooked 1 cup 13 
  • Veggie burger 1 patty 13 
  • Veggie baked beans 1 cup 12 
  • Tofu, firm 4 ounces 11 
  • Tofu, regular 4 ounces 10 
  • Bagel 1 med. (3.5 oz) 10 
  • Quinoa, cooked 1 cup 8 
  • Peas, cooked 1 cup 8 
  • Textured Vegetable Protein (TVP), cooked 1/2 cup 8 
  • Peanut butter 2 Tbsp 8 
  • Veggie dog 1 link 8 
  • Spaghetti, cooked 1 cup 8 
  • Almonds 1/4 cup 8 
  • Soy milk, commercial, plain 1 cup 7 
  • Whole wheat bread 2 slices 7
  • Almond butter 2 Tbsp 7 
  • Soy yogurt, plain 8 ounces 6 
  • Bulgur, cooked 1 cup 6 
  • Sunflower seeds 1/4 cup 6 
  • Cashews 1/4 cup 5 
  • Spinach, cooked 1 cup 5 
  • Broccoli, cooked 1 cup 4

Source: http://www.vrg.org/nutrition/protein.php

It’ll take some tweaking but I think I can find some reasonable options.

So sore footed and tired, I head off to bed. Ready to face another day.

  
My bedroom, mostly cleaned up

One Comment Add yours

  1. Mum says:

    Your room looks so beautiful.

Leave a Reply

