Food Swap

I’ll admit, I’m a weight loss show junkie. My 600lb Life, Fat Chance, Extreme Weightloss, Skin Tight, I love them all. Well except Biggest Loser. I think it’s wrong to eleminate contestants off of the show when this weight loss could save their life. That’s why I was excited when Shaun T announced that he was hosting a new reality show called My Diet is Better Than Yours. 
Contestants are paired with a health coach of their choosing and if they’re not happy with their plan, they can fire their coach and get a new one. Overall, I thought it was a pretty decent show.

One of the contestants chose the Superfood Swap Diet. Instead of eliminating things from your diet, you simply swap out bad things for a healthier “superfood” version. The contestant and her husband excelled on the program and set themselves up for sustainable healthy eating patterns. This plan spoke to me because cutting out the things you love is not sustainable for most people, and it leads to people going back to their bad habits. I didn’t get to be this size by eating salads and fruits. 
When I chatted to my mum over the weekend, she told me how she was starting to swap out foods, without even knowing that there was a diet centered around swapping! She made a dish this weekend where she swapped out rice for cauliflower and added in pineapple for a filling healthy meal.

  
This got me thinking about raw vegan “super” swaps. Decrease carbs and calories while increasing nutrients. What food you swap in or out depends on what type of nutrients you’re trying to achieve or avoid. Instead of mashed potatoes, try cauliflower mash. Use applesauce or bananas in place of eggs in your baking recipes. Any little change you can make to reduce your animal product and processed food intake and increase your produce intake is a win.

 
  
 
If you’d like to read more about the Superfood Swap diet, check out Dawn’s website here.

One Comment Add yours

  1. Mum says:

    I am glad that I could give you a yummy healthy idea and it may inspire someone. You have shared so many ideas with me and I enjoy reading your posts.

Leave a Reply

