Durian mountain

Today I tried the durian. I almost feel like this fruit is the king of all fruits and was like a big mountain that I had to climb. I opened it up and whew, it did in fact smell. It wasn’t as bad as some people say it is though. It’s odd because when you are a few feet away it smells really bad but when you get pretty close, it kind of smells like an onion and a pineapple. The texture is kind of like stringy custard. The taste I can only imagine is an acquired taste. It was sort of like creamy onion. It wasn’t bad, but I definitely wouldn’t say it was good or delicious. I’ve been told not to judge the durian just by one durian, so when the season hits in June, I may try it again. But for now my house smells like durian.

Leave a Reply

