Book Review: Loving it Raw: Understanding the raw food diet

Last week, I had a little too much time on my hands and downloaded a few raw books on my Kindle. The first I read, was Loving it raw; understanding the raw food diet by Jennifer Wells.

This easy read can be finished within a few hours.  It is an introduction to the raw food diet, and I purchased it for 99c, or free with Amazon Prime. I would definitely recommend this easy inexpensive book.

It outlines the very basics of the raw food diet and is a good way to get your toes wet. Some of the chapters go over why to eat raw, common myths, how to get started, how to prepare raw foods, and a few recipes. My biggest takeaway from this book was that you can actually alter food, and still absorb the nutrients. It also goes in depth into what nutrients are lost during the  cooking process, and how they harm your body. Some raw individuals tell you not to alter the food at all, that it is good as it is. Well that’s boring!  You can puree, juice, chop, sprouting, and even cook as long as the temperature is kept under  118 degrees.

The other thing I liked about this book is that it is realistic.  It let’s you know that it’s ok to comprise your diet of 70-80% raw. It also give you other books and websites to access to help you on your journey. I recommend this book, especially for the price and time factor.

The next book I am working on is Green made easy; the everyday guide for transitioning to a green lifestyle by Chris Prelitz. Review to come soon.

Leave a Reply

