Temptation

This past week was quite an interesting one.  I was doing really good. I was strong, motivated, and could finally feel my body accepting this new way of life.  Then Monday hit. I had signed up months ago for the yearly All You Can Eat Chicken Night at E.A.T. I decided to still go since I’d made the reservation and paid for the dinner already. This yearly event is an all you can eat buffet of southern cooking. I was doing good sticking to potatoes, mac n cheese, corn, collard greens, and corn bread. Then… chicken happened. They laid a plate of chicken on the table and my friends starting grabbing at the plate like vultures. Since I’d heard such amazing things about the chicken, I gave it a go.

It wasn’t worth it.

I suspect that the chicken was tasty since the table of 6 ate 2 plates, but I just wasn’t feeling it. Maybe it wasn’t my thing, or maybe that little voice in me talked to my taste buds. Either way, I didn’t feel like I was missing out by not eating more.

The rest of the week I returned to Pop Up Pizza and had vegan pizza 2 more times, and continued my morning shake evening salad regiment. I was proud of myself that I went out for fast food twice, but was able to avoid 99% processed food. At Chipotle, I had a bowl with black beans, brown rice, pico de gayo, cheese, guacamole, lettuce, and sour cream. I realize that their beans may have lard in them and their guacamole may have artificial additives, but for what it is, I feel good.

Tonight I went grocery shopping and picked up a packet from Trader Joe’s that details their vegan products. I was shocked how many items I assumed had animal products in them lacked such things. I personally love Trader Joe’s. Many people think ill of this chain store because even though they feel like a corner market, they are still a chain store owned by “Big Corporation.” They are owned by the German equivalent of Walmart and and refuse to reveal where some of their produce and meat come from. They use private label dealers who will give them the best deal instead of using local growers. There are negative things about Trader Joe’s, but they do have the best prices and largest selection of organic items in my town. So until more local growers pop up in my area, or I move, my loyalty is with them.

I purchased organic spinach, strawberries, bananas, plumbs, kiwis, oranges, limes, and apples. I also picked up some organic pasta sauce, breakfast bars, coffee, chocolate, trail mix, and many other products.  One that I came across is Organic fruit wrap. They come in assortment of flavors and are 39c each. I tried the apple banana, and it is delicious!  The ingredients are as follows:

  • Organic apple puree concentrate
  • Organic apple juice concentrate
  • Organic banana puree
  • Citrus pectin – a form of pectin that has been altered so that it can be more easily absorbed by the digestive tract. Pectin is a carbohydrate that is made of hundreds or thousands of polysaccharide molecules chemically linked together. It is found in most plants and is particularly plentiful in the peels of apples, citrus fruits, and plums.
  • Natural flavors
  • Organic lemon juice concentrate

After reading the exert about citrus pectin, it has opened my eyes that even organic things, can have modified products in them. Even though they are really tasty, part of transitioning into a completely raw lifestyle one day means cutting out anything that didn’t look like that when it came out of the ground. This journey has also made me excited about cooking and baking.  Looking at the ingredients on this wrap made me think… why can’t I make my own wraps? Ice cream? Breakfast bars? There are no limits with the right knowledge.

I purchased a book on Amazon, downloaded on my Kindle to be more eco friendly, about living raw. I’ll write a review on it soon. I am hoping to learn more about different items that I can use in my cooking and maybe even how to substitute natural products for household cleaners, lotions, and cosmetics.

The journey is just beginning.

Leave a Reply

