Meh, that was pretty good

I’ve only been on this journey for 4 days, and feel that I am already making progress. Today, I felt strong on my journey and my decisions. Not only did my outlook on food change recently, but so did my scenery. I had the opportunity to work in a new high rise office.  The views of my city surrounding me, fresh equipment, tranquil design, and fun personal touches were my companions today. It was refreshing to have a change of pace and scenery.

I woke up after only a few hours of sleep groggy and restless.  Perhaps I had something on my mind, perhaps I was excited for the day. Who knows. Either way, I made myself my usual shake for breakfast and stashed an orange away for later and headed off to work. Around 11am, I was starving and chose to run down to the corner store.  There I picked up a 20oz Redbull (shame on me), a cup of strawberries and blueberries, and my impulse purchase of Cheeze-Its. I devoured all of them before noon. I felt a little bad about my impulse buys. That’ll show me to shop on an empty stomach.

As I was eating my cup of berries, I noticed an odd taste. As I was describing it to a coworker, he asked if I’d been eating a lot of organic fresh fruit lately, which I have. Is it possible that I am tasting the preservatives? The chemicals? The thought made me feel a little nauseated.

Lunch arrived, FINALLY! An assortment of salads, sandwiches, and wraps were at my fingertips. I ogled the assortment and grabbed a plate. Before I could blink, my uncontrollable arms were rummaging through through the sandwiches and found a vegetarian  roll.  All lonely on the bottom of the tray.  I also inspected each of the salads and settled on the only 2 without meat on them.

I sat back at my desk, grabbed a water, and devoured my meal. It is honestly the freshest and best meal that I feel I’ve had in a while.  I was proud of myself because I made good choices, and didn’t feel ill afterward. As a matter of fact, in the last 4 days, I have not had a headache or stomachache. Both of which, were daily occurrences of mine. Am I hoping for too much, or is this really working?

After a full days work, I arrived home and made myself my usual spinach strawberry salad.  Which I calculated the calories today, and the entire salad is only about 320 calories. And it’s a hearty salad as well!  2 cups of spinach, 4 strawberries, 2 tbsp chopped walnuts, 2 tbsp raspberry walnut vinaigrette dressing, 1/8 cup feta, and 1/8 cup blue cheese crumbles. The most astonishing thing that I realized that for that 1/8 cup of cheddar cheese (1oz) is around 110 calories. For the same amount of feta or blue cheese, 45-50. For an entire carton of spinach (5oz, about 3 salads) 35 calories.  No not 35 per salad, 35 total! It’s amazing how delicious low calories food can be. The spinach per serving has around 1.3g of protein and 1g fiber. It is also a great source of Vitamin A, C, Calcium, and Iron.

The average woman requires about 46g a day of protein, so you’re not going to get all of your nutrients in a day from spinach alone. The cheese adds another 6.5g, 1 for the strawberries, and the walnuts 1. That’s nearly 10g in just that one meal. The half sandwich provided another 6.5, the salads 10, the fruit cup 2, and my breakfast shake 9.5. Without the junk food that brings me up to 38. Not too shabby! I will definitely focus on integrating more nuts into my diet in order to ensure I am getting the correct amount of nutrients.

This experience has been very eye opening. I’m learning about myself and what my mind and body need to be healthy. We’ll see what surprises tomorrow has in store for me.

Arugula Pear

Baby arugula, pears, shaved fennel, goat cheese and caramelized pecans tossed with our lemon herb vinaigrette. Available with chicken or tuna.

Chopped Salad

Chopped broccoli, red cabbage, tomatoes, olives, garbanzo beans and mozzarella cheese tossed with our balsamic basil vinaigrette.

Vegetarian

Goat cheese, eggplant, zucchini, roasted red peppers, yellow squash, red onions, roasted tomatoes and chipotle mayo.

Leave a Reply

